Saturday Spotlight: Olivia Ruffin of All Those Little Things

Blog Name: All Those Little Things

Blog URL:  all-thoselittlethings.blogspot.com

Your name: Olivia Ruffin

Instagram name: @olivebarrett

-6

Where are you located? Richmond, VA of course!

Tell us a little about yourself: I am really into fashion (obviously), music, singing and such. I am a student who has a serious chocolate chip cookie addiction and obsession with all things glittery and gold!

When did you start your blog? About a year ago, December 26th, 2013 was my blogs first birthday! I made it a little video, it was fun.

-7

Why did you decide to start blogging? I started blogging when my friend showed me all of the fabulous blogs she followed, and I have always been in love with being both behind and in front of the camera, so I gave it a shot!

Where are your favorite places to shop in RVA? Hummm… I am a HUGE thriftaholic, so I’d say, any thrift store… I loved B-Sides, but sadly… they closed. I absolutely ADORE Rumors, they have such cool clothing! And it’s all vintage or second hand, and totally local.

-8

Favorite blogs to read?

  1. Bri from The Secret Life of Bee
  2. Keiko from Keiko Lynn
  3. Elsie and Emma from A Beautiful Mess
  4. Olivia Shutey from Olivia Taylor La Voyageuse

How would you describe your personal style? Always evolving. I move from quirky 1950’s girly, to grungy all black, oversized coats and Doc Martin’s, to super simple and comfortable, bohoesque… the list goes on for miles. It’s always changing! But I really love that, why stick to one “style” when there are so many options to explore especially when you know that it only matters to you what you look like… I don’t feel like I need to dress to impress others, because I dress for me, what makes me happy.

-5

What has been one of your favorite experiences blogging has lead to? Honestly, anything like this… When I can see that I actually have people looking at my blog and they want it to be published somewhere else. Like for instance, when I was asked to be a Teen Vogue fashion blogger, or a Lucky Magazine style consultant. I also just love getting comments, even if they are a simple, “cool!” or a descriptive, “wow I really like this, it reminds me of this one time when I…..” comments mean a lot to me.

If you could give any advice to other bloggers what would it be? I think probably just stay confident. Starting a blog can be tough, especially trying to get the word out and getting followers/viewers etc. Be creative and unafraid to try new and weird things. Honestly, while we are still staying semi-sane, the strange and unusual, yet cool and clever, spark peoples interests in taking a look! Most importantly have fun doing it! If you don’t love LOVE blogging… don’t blog, do something you really love, find your special thing.

-9

Leave a Reply

