Saturday Spotlight: Maria Parenti of Style Goonie

Blog Name: Style Goonie

Blog URL:  stylegoonie.tumblr.com

Your name: Maria Parenti

Twitter: twitter.com/riaa_p

Instagram name: instagram.com/riaa_p

tumblr_inline_mo7b3wrqgX1qz4rgp

Where are you located? Richmond, VA

Tell us a little about yourself: I am a rising senior at VCU studying Fashion Merchandising. Fashion is one of my biggest passions, I believe studying it reveals something so special about the individual.

When did you start your blog? I started my blog back in June of 2011. As the years have gone by the blog has evolved a lot. I have learned a lot through the process, and still have so much to learn.

tumblr_mhwypuMIJX1qm99j1o1_400Why did you decide to start blogging? I decided to start blogging so I could have a different platform to explore and express myself through fashion. I also wanted to focus on improving my writing on fashion, personal, and cultural blog posts. I would find myself so blown away by the rich culture, street style, and essence of Richmond and I wanted to share that.

Where are your favorite places to shop in RVA? I really enjoy the culture that surrounds thrifting. I find some of my favorite finds in the most unexpected locations. Specifically for thrifting, my favorites are Round Two Vintage, Fan Thrift, B- Sides and Rumors. I also like shopping at American Apparel, H&M, and Halcyon.

tumblr_inline_mmck8eOF4i1qz4rgpTop 3 favorite blogs to read? My 3 favorite blogs to read are wetheurban.com , nymag.com/thecut/, and wmagazine.com/w/blogs/editorsblog.

How would you describe your personal style? Evolving. I find myself always oscillating between extremes then a few months later I am in a whole new direction. One thing that is consistent with my style is I try to have it reflect my personality. I always try to push barriers and discover new aspects of my style.

Who is your style inspiration? There are so many amazing style icons but Audrey Hepburn is definitely my biggest inspiration. Hepburn’s style is iconic because it was lovely and powerful, but always looked effortless and genuine. I am very inspired by the bold and eccentric styles of M.I.A. The late designer Alexander McQueen will always be a really important part of fashion for me, I find myself constantly reflecting and in awe of his words and the art of his fashions.

tumblr_inline_mnubk9Naid1qz4rgpWhat has been one of your favorite experiences blogging has lead to? I believe my favorite experience that came from the blog was covering the Valentine Museum Gala. I was able to take up close pictures of fashions from as early as the Victorian Era. I also met a lot of notable people in fashion in Richmond, even Ms. Jay from America’s Next Top Model was there!

If you could give any advice to other bloggers what would it be? Don’t be afraid that your view isn’t cool enough, or is odd. Express yourself fearlessly, and be bold!

Leave a Reply

