Saturday Spotlight: Jennifer Burchette of Fashionista Jenn

Blog Name:  Fashionista Jenn

Blog URL:  fashionistajenn.blogspot.com

Your name: Jennifer Burchette

Facebook: facebook.com/stylistfashionistajenn

Twitter: Personal: twitter.com/FashionistaJenn or Blog: twitter.com/FashionBlogJenn

Instagram name: instagram.com/fashionistajenn

Burchette05-29-13-2

Where are you located? Virginia Beach native, studying at Virginia Commonwealth University in Richmond, VA

Tell us a little about yourself: I am a 21 year old Senior Undergraduate student at Virginia Commonwealth University (VCU) just trying to graduate and pursue my long beloved goal of a career in fashion. When I’m not being a student, I’m a Style Guru for Amy Levin’s CollegeFashionista.com. It requires me to scout and report trends on the school’s campus. I’m also the stylist for an upcoming urban brand DIRGY. awesomton (71)worked

When did you start your blog? Thanks to my mother’s great advice, I started my blog last November actually.

Why did you decide to start blogging? I really wanted a way to document and share my progression into my career. It’s great to look back at old posts and see how much I’ve accomplished. Plus it’s a great way to show others your ability and competence in the industry. I get such a thrill from seeing others interested in my passion and sharing the same excitement from something I’ve posted.

awesomton (55)worked 1

Where are your favorite places to shop in RVA? Although I’m an admirer of Richmond’s fashion I barely shop within the city. The only place that takes most of paycheck would have to be Rumors. I love how close it is it to me and the great finds that I discover.

Top 3 favorite blogs to read? Independent Fashion Bloggers (heartifb.com) is great! I love a blog about blogging. It really helps me organize and get my ideas out in my posts the way I want to.  I also enjoy reading GirlWiththeFlower.com. I love the blogger’s personal style. She is very creative and ha a great theme to her blog. I also am a fan of theblvdparadigm.blogspot.com. Janelle Reid may be new to blogging but you wouldn’t be able to tell. Her blog reminds me a lot of how mine started.

blackfashionHow would you describe your personal style? Ugh this question always gets me, because I like to try so may new things it’s so hard to pin point the actual words for my personal style. I will say I’m a master at layering and recreating. Just when I want to throw something out I find a whole other way to wear it and you would think that it’s brand new. Some people have no idea how long I have certain items in my closet but make it look new. I guess you could call me a “Creative Re-creator,” or maybe just a creative way for saying hoarder because I never like to let things go! You never know when it may come back into style. Therefore I tend not to follow trendy items and stick to the more classic ones that will be appreciated from season to season.

Who is your style inspiration? My style inspiration contains three ingredients. It contains a hint of Carrie Bradshaw’s closet, mixed with a dab of Lauren Conrad’s creative DIYs and career drive, and a hint of fierce from Ms. Tyra Banks herself to add confidence to any outfit I decide to rock. Each one has had a huge influence into why I do what I do. They have not only inspired me in fashion but in life as well.

xuo57l1QUrOo5kUhuXNNM0ty0iaiNJUI4kWbzU9n5awIf you could give any advice to other bloggers what would it be? Don’t be afraid to do what it is you love. Know that God chose you to be good at it for a reason and just go for it. It may sound cliché but confidence really is key, wise words I learned from my mother at an early stage. You could rock a trash bag with all the confidence in the world and people will think its cool because you’re owning your own style and look.

Leave a Reply

