Saturday Spotlight: Stormy Holt of Mosaic Union

Blog Name: Mosaic Union

Blog URL: mosaicunion.com

Your name: Stormy Holt

Facebook: www.facebook.com/MosaicUnion

Twitter: twitter.com/MosaicUnion

Instagram name: instagram.com/__stormyy

new-4271-2
Where are you located? RVA!

Tell us a little about yourself: I am a military kid who who fell in love with culture of the world. I went to VCU for my undergraduate and graduate degree, which I feel, pushed me even further towards my love of all things “right-brain.” Currently, I am trying to carve my mark in this beautiful realm as I fall closer to 25. Eek!

When did you start your blog? I started Mosaic Union with my best friend, Kiara, last September. I am in awe at how far we’ve gone in nine months. We took a chance at something we loved; and seeing the impact we’ve made so soon is very inspiring.

new-4099-2
Why did you decide to start blogging? Kiara and I have always loved fashion, that is something that has always been a part of us. In addition the rich cultures of both RVA and Nashville, where she is currently, are something that demands attention. I love exploring the works of talented people around RVA. There are so many thinkers here! Not only that, but RVA has a certain style that I love and I feel is unique to Virginia and Kiara felt the same way about Nashville. So one day while I was visiting her in TN, over a glass of wine of course, we decided that we should “record” or blog about the awesome things happening in these two cities. Of course we don’t restrict ourselves to RVA and Nashville, but due to our current residents in the cities, our blog is majority RVA and Nashville.

Where are your favorite places to shop in RVA? Honestly, I would have to say Fantastic Thrift, Diversity Thrift, Rumors and any other thrift or consignment shop. Anyone can shop trends, the real fun is taking the old and tweaking it for today.

Top 3 favorite blogs to read? I love to read and scroll through LateBoots, Who What Wear, and Hole In Jean Pocket. Hey, Bevin!

20130510_201153
How would you describe your personal style? My style is tricky. I love to try new things just about everyday. But no matter what, my style is polished. However, if I had to silo myself, I would say my style is relaxed, chic fun. I never try to hard to make something work. I just go with the flow. A lot like my personality actually. Haha.

Who is your style inspiration? Other than my mother, I would have to say Rachel Zoe and the Olsen twins. Everything they do id so effortless, comfy but cute. I love it.

If you could give any advice to other bloggers what would it be? This is your dream, so own it. Never be afraid to take chances and think outside the box. A blog is your perspective, so always be yourself. People will love you for it.

20130430_213248

Leave a Reply

