Sunday Spotlight: Whitney Jones of Worthy Style

Blog Name: WorthyStyle

Blog URL: www.worthystyle.com

Your name: Whitney Jones

Facebook: facebook.com/worthystyle

Twitter: twitter.com/WorthyStyle

Instagram name: instagram.com/WorthyStyle

post maj haircut nov 2012

Where are you located? Goochland, VA

Tell us a little about yourself: I grew up in Rockbridge County, VA – over in the mountains – on a beautiful farm. My Dad is an executive for a Fortune 500 company and he has always been meticulous about his appearance for work. My Mom was in the fashion industry for 30 years, she ran a boutique in Buckhead, a wealthy suburb of Atlanta for years, and when she returned to Virginia she started to work for different fashion companies.

I am really close to my parents, we talk all the time, so when I talk about myself, I feel like I have to discuss them as well as they are so much a part of my identity. I have always loved fashion thanks to them. I have worn both of their vintage clothes throughout my life – Dad’s Levi denim jacket and wool plaid pants, Mom’s silk bow blouses and vintage clutch purses. They hand things off to me – as long as I ask – as they know I take care of them. Their pieces make my wardrobe look timeless and I can always pull something out on-trend without necessarily going to a boutique to buy it new (but that does not mean I don’t enjoy shopping!).

I went through a horrible awkward phase in middle and high school, and struggled with manic depression during my teen years. Writing has always been a way for me to make my life feel more balanced! When I was at Randolph-Macon for undergrad, I double-majored in Political Science and Environmental Studies, which required a lot of writing. Now that I am married, my husband encourages me to write more as my 9-5 job is a high-tension environment and he can tell I feel less stressed after writing for a few hours.

my daily beauty routine by WorthyStyle

When did you start your blog? I started working on my WorthyStyle blog back almost five years ago next week. I was still in college so it was a fun outlet for me. I had read that blogging was a popular thing, and it cracked me up as I was not new to the experience, just the latest platforms of it (Blogger, WordPress). I wanted to do something casual, nothing really full-time (as you can see in my archives, I write quite sparingly). I only write what I want to and things I actually care about. It is fun to look back because there are so many things I used to be interested in and they have fallen by the wayside in the past couple years (Lilly Pulitzer is not a full-time obsession now). I just have diverse tastes and enjoy sharing them with people! Finding like-minded people, globally, through blogging is a blast.

Why did you decide to start blogging? I started blogging when I was in high school – back when LiveJournal was the only forum for “blogging.” My boarding school actually made me delete my first ‘blog’ which was on LiveJournal from back in 2000. The most recent version of it is from 2003 or so. I wrote in that for years. It was a way for me to keep the phone bills down and to keep in touch with those boarding school boyfriends, classmates, and friends from summer camp. Remember, that was when AOL Instant Messenger was such a huge deal but you could lose yourself on it for hours. In contrast, a post on LiveJournal could reach out to everyone at once which was nice. That tapered off as my priorities changed, and I only used it for a creative outlet for more experimental writing as I got more mature.

My WorthyStyle blog is a lot more off-the-cuff and fun, although obviously if something serious happens in my life that I want to share with my readers I never hesitate in doing so! I just wanted a fun way to use some of my spare time.

Vegas Bachelorette

Where are your favorite places to shop in RVA? I actually worked at a Nordstrom in Maryland when I took a gap year off from college. I worked in the lingerie department and it really made me fall in love with being aware of your body as a woman and how what you wear underneath is a foundation for the rest of your wardrobe. So, I think Nordstrom at Short Pump, Derriere de Soie, Blythe at the Shoppes at Westgate, and Saks Fifth Avenue are my favorite places to shop here in RVA.

Top 3 favorite blogs to read? Her Late Night Cravings, Phi Phi’s Blog , and Cherries on the Hill .

How would you describe your personal style? I would say I am pretty classic… Ralph Lauren/Calvin Klein/Oscar de la Renta. I am quite hourglassy so I have a fair mix of WASP-y looks and 1940s/50s glamour for special events/evening. I go for suits and pencil skirts for work and then dresses and silk jersey for eveningwear. A skinny jean, pair of Fryes, and an oxford shirt are a favorite weekend wardrobe look.

Fridays Fancies link up by Long-Distance Loving-April Showers by WorthyStyle

Who is your style inspiration? I am inspired by a mix between Carolyn Bessette-Kennedy, Katharine Hepburn, and Scarlett Johansson. All are style icons in their own way.

If you could give any advice to other bloggers what would it be? Firstly, make sure you mark your ‘brand’ and keep things consistent from Twitter to your blog name, that way if you are Google searched everything pulls up and it is you! Cheap Vista Print business cards are wonderful to have when speaking with stores and meeting up with other bloggers.

Also do not ever lose touch with who you are as an individual. Be sure to not give in to trying to make yourself more popular by writing about what everyone else is covering. Cover your interests, and your agenda. Find brands that respect that and go with it, eventually it will work in your favor (yes, it could take a few years)!

2 thoughts on “Sunday Spotlight: Whitney Jones of Worthy Style

Leave a Reply

