Saturday Spotlight: I’esha of GaptoothDiva

Blog Name: GaptoothDiva

Blog URL: www.GaptoothDiva.com

Your name: I’esha GaptoothDiva

Facebook: www.facebook.com/GaptoothDiva

Twitter: twitter.com/GaptoothDiva

Instagram name: instagram.com/GaptoothDiva

IMG_20130228_165607

Where are you located? Richmond, Virginia

Tell us a little about yourself: I’m a wife, mother of 2 boys, and the Queen of Flawsome. I own my God-given flaws and stray from conformity. I’m silly and positive, that’s what people love most about me. I enjoy the arts and those that are creative. I’m all about beauty on a budget and keeping it 100%. I love with all my heart and I learn by finding out on my own, not copying others. Sarcasm is the period after most of my sentences. 1366767917803

When did you start your blog? I started my blog in 2007, then I made it official in 2009.

Why did you decide to start blogging? I initially started to blog to promote the people I was working with and around, and share silly stuff I saw or received in my inboxes. However, it later evolved into a blog documenting my own experiences, what I do, and my opinions on issues, projects, and events. I’m passionate about motivating and inspiring people like me who never really fit into any one box, so I use my website to reach that particular audience. I use my personality to entertain them.

Screen shot 2013-04-26 at 11.25.14 PM

Where are your favorite places to shop in RVA? My favorite places to shop are the thrift stores, and yard sales.

Top 3 favorite blogs to read? Among my favorite blogs are Madame Noire, Refinery 29 D.C Edition, and Fashion Bomb Daily.

How would you describe your personal style? I would describe my style as being funky and eclectic. I take old and mix it with new; I redesign and refashion the craziest things into everyday wear. If people knew that jacket was a bathrobe, they would kill themselves. I don’t pay much, to slay many. It’s unique, like me.

IMG_20130114_144627

Who is your style inspiration? No one, I’m inspired by pieces not people. People are dressed in the clothes that I like, usually by professional stylist. Therefore, I’m inspired by the pieces they are wearing, not who is wearing them.

If you could give any advice to other bloggers, what would it be? Cliques are for kids. Always be yourself. You can never do anything wrong if you’re doing it your own way, unless you’re only doing it to be famous.

IMG_20130425_124915

Leave a Reply

