Saturday Spotlight: Dayami of Dayi’s Sense of Style

Blog Name: Dayi’s Sense of Style

Blog URL:  www.dayissenseofstyle.com

Your name: Dayami

Facebook: www.facebook.com/dayistyle

Twitter: twitter.com/Dayisstyle

Instagram: @drabassa

04

Where are you located? I am originally from Miami, Florida, but moved to Virginia six years ago.  We currently live in Ruther Glen.

Tell us a little about yourself: I personally love this question since it gives me a chance to let everyone know a little personal history about myself. I was born in Cuba and left when I was six years old.  Since we couldn’t come into the US directly for obvious political reasons, we ended up living in Panama.  Finally, after a year and a half, my family and I were able to come into the USA and of course we ended up in beautiful Miami, Florida.  I grew up in the sunshine state and moved to Virginia bout 6 years ago with my family for business reasons.  I’m a mother to 3 awesome, beautiful girls and work a full time office job.  It’s very tough juggling family life and work, but I’m used to my hectic life and wouldn’t want it any other way.

02

When did you start your blog? I started my blog in August 2011.

Why did you decide to start blogging? J’s Everyday Fashion was the first blog I ever read and it ultimately inspired me to start my own.  I loved how she could create outfits from celebrities and ads, but I quickly noticed that not all of her outfits fit my life nor work style.  So, I decided to create a real day to day office style related blog.  My ultimate goal is to help women in the everyday grind of work, family, and college life feel comfortable in their own skin by putting together simple, professional outfits on a small budget.

8

Where are your favorite places to shop in RVA? I first discovered consignment stores when I moved to Virginia.  And still to this day, one of my favorite places to shop and sell items of clothing is The Hall Tree in Cary Town.  I also love the JCrew warehouse sales held every few months in Lynchburg, VA.  And although it’s 3 hours away from home, I find each trip completely worth it (especially since I can’t afford their actual prices).

Top favorite blogs to read? I admire and read several blogs but only a few fit my life, style and budget.  For example, I love recreating these ladies’ outfits: Pink Peonies, Kendi Everyday, J’s Everyday Fashion, and Fashion Boulevard.  But the blogs that I most relate to because of our similar styles are: Mix and Match Fashion, Marionberry Style, Sequins & Stilettos, and Lilly’s Style. 05

How would you describe your personal style? I’m definitely classy with a dash of trendy.  I love classical pieces with modern cuts that flatter my body shape.  I don’t like to wear items that are super trendy and I like to be mindful of age appropriateness.

Who is your style inspiration? I don’t think I have a specific style icon, but I do like Stacy from What Not To Wear, simply because she mixes classic pieces with modern items and always pulls off the best looks.

If you could give any advice to other bloggers what would it be? I guess the best advice I can give is to be consistent with your posts, but also take a break when needed.  I personally do this as a hobby and try my very best not to stress it when I can’t post.

01

Leave a Reply

