Saturday Spotlight: Sydney Page Lester of Chic Stripes

1
Blog Name: 
Chic Stripes

Blog URL:  http://chicstripes.wordpress.com/

Your name:  Sydney Page Lester

Twitter: https://twitter.com/chicstripes

Instagram: @chicstripes

6

Where are you located? I currently live in the Forest Hill area of Richmond, Virginia in a 1950s era home with my husband and two cats.

Tell us a little about yourself: I am a lover of clothes, coffee, my husband, God and Richmond (in no particular order).  Have two masters’ degrees and want to pursue a PhD.  I sometimes like dressing eclectically just for the reactions. Hate the sound of shoelaces tying together. Wish I could be one of those cool DIY persons. Can’t draw to save my life. Love a good game night with friends. Am a voracious and fast reader. Have way too many photos on my iPhone.

2

When did you start your blog? I started my blog way back in 2009.

Why did you decide to start blogging? Somehow I stumbled on the now infamous blog of Rumi Neely, Fashion Toast, and loved her sense of style, her freedom to wear what she wanted (which was more often something teensy tiny or sheer!), and while I couldn’t see myself ever wearing some of the things she did, I was intrigued by this notion of documenting what you wore as a means of inspiration for yourself and others. Living in Richmond no doubt fueled my experiment of blogging and dressing, as I can truly say that Richmond is accepting of anyone’s sense of personal style, and there is freedom in that, especially as so many of us are still exploring what exactly is our own “signature” look or personal sense of style. I started my own blog as I felt I had something to offer the blogging/fashion world that was different. I’m still figuring out some of what that is, but am always excited, open and pursuing new opportunities.

3

Where are your favorite places to shop in RVA? Well, seeing as how I’ve taken a pledge to shop 2nd hand 1st in 2013 (Shoot me an email at chicstripes@gmail.com if you want to join me!), I am loving Finicky Fox in the West End. Also on my most shopped at list are B-Sides (Carytown), Goodwill (on Broad/Paraham) and Baggio (West End). For non-2nd hand stores, I am a huge fan of Eurotrash and Fabrik in Carytown and who doesn’t love J. Crew?

Top 3 favorite blogs to read? In no particular order, Wardrobe Oxygen, Upperlyne, Extra Petite.

How would you describe your personal style? I like classic looks with just a little bit of edge or vintage vibe. Things that have a bit of feminine with a touch of masculine; like stealing my husband’s watch and wearing it with heels and ruffles.

 4

Who is your style inspiration? There are SO many options for style inspiration out there. I tend to either look at people who dress very well for every day looks or look at people whose styles are crazy or out there.  Then it’s a matter of choosing aspects of their style that appeal to me to fuse it into my own. Just a few are: Juley of Upperlyne and Jean of Extra Petite (total wearable, every day styles), Sharee of It’s not that deep…  and Beth of B. Jones Style (fun, vintage style), and Sarah Jessica Parker (is this cliché? The real SJP, not Carrie Bradshaw. SJP’s everyday look is fab).

If you could give any advice to other bloggers what would it be? Just go for it and don’t give up.  Make nice and find friends in the blogging world. Work with other bloggers, well known or not. Cross blogging lines (fashion, food, lifestyle, home). Market your blog and purposefully seek out opportunities. Never take no for an answer. Make it work!

5

Leave a Reply

